Community Forums 

Main Content

How can we make customers confirm their age?

Jan 15 2011 13:15:17

Ian S

We want to add a range of model makers knives and blades to our webshop but we would like our customers to confirm that they are over the age of 18 when they add these items to the cart.
    Is it possible that when they select an item from this range, they go to a new page to confirm their age, and then proceed to the cart.
    Anyone any idea how this can be done faily simply (I'm not an HTML expert by any means so anything too complicated will have me struggling!)

Thanks
    Ian

Jan 15 2011 13:26:27

GT

You could add a checkbox for them, so at least you have proof they say they are over 18. But besides that....

Having trouble with a form or need one building?
    Fast turnaround, but I do charge :)

Mal's Forms / Scripts and the syntax are here.

Jan 15 2011 14:49:40

Debbie Q

The cart has a terms and conditions checkbox which you could require them to check in order to contiune but it would be sitewide and not just the knives so you would have to word it carefully so it didn't confuse people.

You could also put some kind of custom java script on your product page that did not allow them to add the item to the cart unless they confirmed they were over 18.

Debbie Q

Mal's Support: www.mals-e.com/support.php
    GT's Forms and examples: www.malsforms.com
    Helpful java scripts: www.gemasana.com/mals
    Shipping help documents: www.stoner.org.uk/mals

My Create-A-Book Publishing - mycreateabook.com
    Personalized Books, Music CDs and Gifts for all ages and occasions.

Please help me out and share my site on your networks.

Jan 15 2011 17:05:22

Ian S

Thanks for the suggestion Debbie and GT.

Ideally we would liike the 'add to cart' process to be a two stage prcoess for these items only (they will be just a few tems of many hundreds).