Community Forums 

Main Content

Help with multiple selection *and* running total

Feb 21 2011 07:36:15

Evolving Door

I'm trying to streamline my order form. I need to have both multiple selection items (using radio buttons or dropdown lists) as well as single selection items that use checkboxes. I want to have a running total of the items selected, but I can't seem to do both the multiple selection AND the subtotal. I'm not a Javascript expert but I do know a bit (just enough to get myself into trouble <g>) and I do have a programming background. I've been trying to combine script features from various examples on www.malsforms.com -- a wonderful resource! -- but somehow I can't seem to get the two features to work together. Here's a sample script attempt that does pass the items through to the cart, but won't subtotal the multiple selection item on the original page:

----------
    <!-- PRODUCT 2 -->
    <input type="hidden" name="product2" value="Product 2">
    <input type="checkbox" id="qty2" name="qty2" value="1" onClick="UpdateCost()">Product 2
    <input type="hidden" id="price2" name="price2" value="19.95">
    <br><br>

<!-- PRODUCT 3 -->
    <input type="checkbox" id="qty3" name="qty3" value="1"> Product 3
    <select name="productpr3">
    <option selected value="">Select Time Length</option>
    <option value="3 months:24.95">3 Months - $24.95</option>
    <option value="6 months:29.95">6 Months - $29.95</option>
    </select>

Select start date:
    <select name="product3[]">
    <option value=" starting today">Month</option>
    <option value=" starting Jan">Jan</option>
    [snip]
    <option value="starting Dec">Dec</option>
    </select>

<select name="product3[]">
    <option value="">Day</option>
    <option value=" 1">1</option>
    [snip]
    <option value=" 31">31</option>
    </select>

Your Total Is:
    <input type="text" id="totalcost" value="">&nbsp;
    <input type="submit" value="Buy Now">

-----------