Community Forums 

Main Content

I'm confused on how to set up my shipping calculations.

    Aug 02 2011 20:27:16

    #1

    Cousin Jack

    Join date : 2011-07-21      Posts : 20

    The shipping is added on the total price of the product(s). This is what I need the shipping calculation to do:

    Shipping & Handling In the contiguous U.S.
    Up to $49.99 = $9.00
    $50.00 to $99.99 = $10.00
    $100.00 to $499.99 = 11%
    $500.00 to $999.99 = 10%
    Over $1,000 = 9%
    All Shipments to HI + AK = 18%

    Where and how do I set this up? I tried option #4 on the shipping calculation in the cart setup, but where do I enter the values into the array?

    Thanks!



    Aug 02 2011 22:05:25

    #2

    Cousin Jack

    Join date : 2011-07-21      Posts : 20

    After staring at the Shipping Documentation (http://www.stoner.org.uk/mals/) site, and searching the forum for several hours now, I'm certain I don't understand the shipping units, cost, stuff much at all.

    If I could just see a working form sample, it might help.

    :-(

    P.S. Is the Shipping Documentation site up to date? There were references to "...hover over 'Advanced shipping' and click on 'Global settings'." But, that doesn't work for me at all. In fact, I can't find Advanced shipping anywhere.

    Help!



    Aug 03 2011 06:10:03

    #3

    Alan

    Join date : 2008-09-18      Posts : 2951

    If you don't see any mention of Advanced shipping, you probably have a standard rather than a Premium account.

    Standard shipping using option 7 offers bands as in your first two lines, OR using option 5 offers percentages as in your next three lines.

    With a Premium account you can mix bands and percentages in one table.

    A compromise using standard shipping may be possible in simple cases. A standard shipping table is limited to five lines

    If you wished to charge 10% with a minimum of 10, in standard shipping setup you could specify a flat handling fee to be included in addition to the table charge. Then choose option 5 with the units=price box checked. Specify one zone and the table

    UNITS COST
    100 ____ 0 _____ nothing more for the first 100 of order value
    rest ____ 0.1 ___ then 10% of any excess over 100

    or slightly more complex, 10% up to 500 then 9%
    UNITS COST
    100 ____ 0 ____ nothing more for the first 100 of order value
    400 ____ 0.1 __ then 10% for the next 400 - charging 50 for order value 500
    0.01 __ -500 __ reduce by 5 (brings the charge to 45 or 9%)
    rest ____ 0.9 __ 9% over 500

    But you probably want a different flat fee in each of your two zones so you'd have to build that into the tables to make it different. No separate flat handling charge.

    You might specify two zones with table values

    Contiguous
    UNITS COST
    0.1 __ 100 _______ charge a basic 10
    99.9 __ 0 ________ nothing more until order value is 100
    400 __ 0.1 _______ then 10% for the next 400 - charging 50 for order value 500
    0.01 __ -500 __ ___reduce by 5 (brings the charge to 45 or 9% of 500)
    rest ____ 0.09 __ __continue at 9% over 500

    HI AL
    UNITS COST
    0.1 ___ 180 _____ if charging 18 min
    99.9 __ 0 _______ nothing more until order value exceeds 100
    rest __ 0.18 _____ continue at 18%

    Alan
    Some shipping help documents are available at www.stoner.org.uk/mals/




    Aug 03 2011 16:48:55

    #4

    Cousin Jack

    Join date : 2011-07-21      Posts : 20

    Thank you for the response, Alan.

    I'm just lost on how to even set that up in code, and where to place it. As far as I can tell, I put a new field into my form like this example:

    <input type="hidden" name="units" value="???" />

    Then, I guess one for the cost?

    <input type="hidden" name="cost" value="???" />

    How do I specify contiguous and HI AL?

    I need to see an example of a working code, plug it into my form and see what happens. then, maybe I can figure it out. Or, have more questions.



    Aug 03 2011 17:17:01

    #5

    Debbie Q

    Join date : 2008-09-18      Posts : 4994

    Hi Jack, In shipping setup under where you choose your shipping option is a table. This is where you setup the numbers that Alan showed you.

    Debbie Q

    Mal's Support: www.mals-e.com/support.php
    GT's Forms and examples: www.malsforms.com
    Helpful java scripts: www.gemasana.com/mals
    Shipping help documents: www.stoner.org.uk/mals

    My Create-A-Book Publishing - mycreateabook.com
    Personalized Books, Music CDs and Gifts for all ages and occasions.

    Please help me out and share my site on your networks.




    Aug 03 2011 17:20:00

    #6

    Cousin Jack

    Join date : 2011-07-21      Posts : 20

    Ohhhh! I just found it! I thought that table stuff was all for option #8. (Feeling stupid at the moment).

    Okay, now it's starting to make a little more sense. Back to work!

    Thanks!



    Aug 03 2011 17:29:34

    #7

    Alan

    Join date : 2008-09-18      Posts : 2951

    No need to specify a units value. Checking the units=price box for option 5 means that the order value is used as the units value.

    Alan
    Some shipping help documents are available at www.stoner.org.uk/mals/