Community Forums 

Main Content

In reply to Marko

    Aug 12 2011 14:58:45

    #1

    GT

    Join date : 2008-09-18      Posts : 3207

    Your page is XHMTL declaration, yet you have a mix of HTML and XHTML markup, bad news...

    After your opening form line you have a ; this can be seen above your table of products.

    The page needs making all XHTML:
    http://validator.w3.org/check?verbose=1&uri=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.giantvegetableseed.co.uk%2Fclive_bevan_seed.html

    In your cart setup, how have you configured the continue shopping button?

    There are a number of options associated with the Continue Shopping button. By default it is an HTML form button which uses the GET method, similar to an ordinary hyperlink. Many webservers will not accept a POST request unless it is to a script so most people should leave it as a GET.

    HTML form
    using the POST request method.
    Hyperlink.

    Having trouble with a form or need one building?
    Fast turnaround, but I do charge :)

    Mal's Forms / Scripts and the syntax are here.




    Aug 12 2011 15:54:26

    #2

    Marko

    Join date : 2011-08-12      Posts : 5

    Thanks for the quick response. I left the Continue Shopping config at the default GET (primarily because I had no idea what my hosting accepts or what benefits there would be in POST). I will have a go at tidying up all the validator observations and see what happens.

    Thanks again!

    A newbie blundering along as best I can - please be forgiving!




    Aug 12 2011 16:15:37

    #3

    Marko

    Join date : 2011-08-12      Posts : 5

    I have now a green light from the W3 validator. I have double checked the return config and it is set to the default GET. The ";"'s were put in by copying the example provided in the previous post (sorry about hijacking) but I have removed both of the ";" from the form syntax but still no joy. Sorry to be a burden... but... help again please?

    A newbie blundering along as best I can - please be forgiving!




    Aug 12 2011 16:44:30

    #4

    GT

    Join date : 2008-09-18      Posts : 3207

    I see you're site is hosted on a Microsoft IIS/6.0 server Marko, do you have access to the control panel for your domain?

    I hope you're not spending too much on hosting, I know those IIS servers can be expensive.

    Having trouble with a form or need one building?
    Fast turnaround, but I do charge :)

    Mal's Forms / Scripts and the syntax are here.




    Aug 12 2011 17:51:45

    #5

    Marko

    Join date : 2011-08-12      Posts : 5

    I do have access to the control panel. I think I can also switch it over to a linux for free if that helps.

    A newbie blundering along as best I can - please be forgiving!




    Aug 12 2011 18:27:42

    #6

    Debbie Q

    Join date : 2008-09-18      Posts : 4994

    It looks like you are still using the wrong verb. Make sure the radio button is checked where it says... "HTML form" but the checkbox next to that is unchecked.

    Debbie Q

    Mal's Support: www.mals-e.com/support.php
    GT's Forms and examples: www.malsforms.com
    Helpful java scripts: www.gemasana.com/mals
    Shipping help documents: www.stoner.org.uk/mals

    My Create-A-Book Publishing - mycreateabook.com
    Personalized Books, Music CDs and Gifts for all ages and occasions.

    Please help me out and share my site on your networks.




    Aug 12 2011 19:34:15

    #7

    Marko

    Join date : 2011-08-12      Posts : 5

    Found it! and Fixed!

    Thanks. I have bought a book on Forms today so hopefully I will have more idea about the terminology shortly.

    Thanks to all. Cheers

    A newbie blundering along as best I can - please be forgiving!