Community Forums 

Main Content

Minimum order quantity problem

    Aug 19 2011 00:01:57

    #1

    Gil Sery

    Join date : 2010-04-27      Posts : 141

    I am using the Minimum Order Quantity setting to prevent customers from ordering fractions of a product (e.g. half a pound). My problem is that this only works when one item is in the shopping cart. The customer gets the message that I set up asking them to please order in whole numbers.

    However, if there is more than one item in the shopping cart (and both items have the same minimum quantity -- which all my products have), the minimum quantity message is not generated.

    Is this the way this feature has been setup or is it a bug?

    Thanks.



    Aug 19 2011 00:13:54

    #2

    Debbie Q

    Join date : 2008-09-18      Posts : 4994

    Why not put a minimum qty script on your website instead? http://www.malsforms.com/minimum.html

    Debbie Q

    Mal's Support: www.mals-e.com/support.php
    GT's Forms and examples: www.malsforms.com
    Helpful java scripts: www.gemasana.com/mals
    Shipping help documents: www.stoner.org.uk/mals

    My Create-A-Book Publishing - mycreateabook.com
    Personalized Books, Music CDs and Gifts for all ages and occasions.

    Please help me out and share my site on your networks.




    Aug 19 2011 00:16:55

    #3

    Gil Sery

    Join date : 2010-04-27      Posts : 141

    Debbie Q said Why not put a minimum qty script on your website instead? http://www.malsforms.com/minimum.html

    Debbie,

    Thanks for the link.

    However, how would I know which form to use? Sometimes customers order one item; sometimes they order more.

    So, looking at the code, I'd have to put that javascript code on every single product I have? I have a lot of products. Is there really no better way of fixing this?

    Thanks,

    Gil



    Aug 19 2011 00:44:02

    #4

    Debbie Q

    Join date : 2008-09-18      Posts : 4994

    Nope You want to inforce the limit per product. The only way to do that is on each product page.

    Debbie Q

    Mal's Support: www.mals-e.com/support.php
    GT's Forms and examples: www.malsforms.com
    Helpful java scripts: www.gemasana.com/mals
    Shipping help documents: www.stoner.org.uk/mals

    My Create-A-Book Publishing - mycreateabook.com
    Personalized Books, Music CDs and Gifts for all ages and occasions.

    Please help me out and share my site on your networks.




    Aug 19 2011 17:06:51

    #5

    Gil Sery

    Join date : 2010-04-27      Posts : 141

    Debbie Q said Nope You want to inforce the limit per product. The only way to do that is on each product page.

    Each product PAGE or each PRODUCT? I have many products on one page, like on this page http://www.tungsten-spheres.com/inventory.html. So I would need to add the code to every product there, correct?

    Thanks.

    Gil



    Aug 19 2011 18:39:41

    #6

    Debbie Q

    Join date : 2008-09-18      Posts : 4994

    Shouldn't your forms have qty text field if people are choosing qtys?? The script I suggested won't help you the way your page is setup.

    I don't know much about java scripts but since you are having them change the qty in the cart and not entering it on your page you need the script to go in the cart but I am not sure you can do that. Geoff or GT would be much better at helping with that.

    Debbie Q

    Mal's Support: www.mals-e.com/support.php
    GT's Forms and examples: www.malsforms.com
    Helpful java scripts: www.gemasana.com/mals
    Shipping help documents: www.stoner.org.uk/mals

    My Create-A-Book Publishing - mycreateabook.com
    Personalized Books, Music CDs and Gifts for all ages and occasions.

    Please help me out and share my site on your networks.




    Aug 19 2011 19:59:29

    #7

    Alan

    Join date : 2008-09-18      Posts : 2950

    If you only wanted whole numbers

    <form ..... id="form1" name="form1" >

    <input type="text" name="qty1" onChange="document.form1.qty1.value=parseInt(document.form1.qty1.value)" />

    would force an integer - but it could still be changed if you allow changes in the cart.

    I guess a function could be written to change all quantities in a form rather than having to add onChange to each product. But not by me.

    Alan
    Some shipping help documents are available at www.stoner.org.uk/mals/




    Aug 19 2011 22:40:34

    #8

    Gil Sery

    Join date : 2010-04-27      Posts : 141

    Thanks, Debbie and Alan.

    I'll look into that.

    Gil