Community Forums 

Main Content

Form Code Mystery!

    Apr 03 2014 14:23:31

    #1

    Flaggfish

    Join date : 2008-09-23      Posts : 77

    I'm making a new cart for a website client and used a different customer's selling page (that works )for a template.
    Here's the new test page:
    http://jboyerdesign.com/sites/dethloff/nordic1.html

    I know I left out the <form action="http://ww12.aitsafe.com/cf/add.cfm"; method="post"> at the top, but every time I paste it in, it breaks the table. It looks OK in live view in Dreamweaver, but not in the edit view.

    Any ideas what's wrong? I haven't updated a lot of the form to match a new Mal's account, but will do it soon. So don't try the cart, just look at the code. THANKS!



    Apr 03 2014 18:09:19

    #2

    Debbie Q

    Join date : 2008-09-18      Posts : 4994

    Where are you putting the form method? Can you put it back in so we can see?

    Debbie Q

    Mal's Support: www.mals-e.com/support.php
    GT's Forms and examples: www.malsforms.com
    Helpful java scripts: www.gemasana.com/mals
    Shipping help documents: www.stoner.org.uk/mals

    My Create-A-Book Publishing - mycreateabook.com
    Personalized Books, Music CDs and Gifts for all ages and occasions.

    Please help me out and share my site on your networks.




    Apr 03 2014 20:50:44

    #3

    Flaggfish

    Join date : 2008-09-23      Posts : 77

    http://www.braggfarm.com/gift-boxes-6.html is the page I copied.

    http://jboyerdesign.com/sites/dethloff/nordic1-test2.html
    is the page you saw now that I added the missing form method.

    The only difference I can see is the options on the first page are in a DIV.



    Apr 03 2014 22:10:43

    #4

    Debbie Q

    Join date : 2008-09-18      Posts : 4994

    http://jboyerdesign.com/sites/dethloff/nordic1.html and
    http://jboyerdesign.com/sites/dethloff/nordic1-test2.html
    Look exactly the same to me. What is the look you are wanting? The form under the stocking picture?

    BTW the div is a huge difference.

    Debbie Q

    Mal's Support: www.mals-e.com/support.php
    GT's Forms and examples: www.malsforms.com
    Helpful java scripts: www.gemasana.com/mals
    Shipping help documents: www.stoner.org.uk/mals

    My Create-A-Book Publishing - mycreateabook.com
    Personalized Books, Music CDs and Gifts for all ages and occasions.

    Please help me out and share my site on your networks.




    Apr 03 2014 22:26:49

    #5

    Flaggfish

    Join date : 2008-09-23      Posts : 77

    Debbie, thanks for looking. My problem is when I add the form action, the table in Dreamweaver somehow blows up in the edit view so the details of the page do not show.. It looks fine online. I'm going to remake it exactly the way the original was, complete with DIV, although that was just centering the choices. The addition of the form action is breaking the HTML. The layout online looks fine, with the stocking to the right and the buying options on the left. I'll work on it some more tomorrow. I have to look and see if there are any stray </form> tags anywhere as well....sigh.



    Apr 03 2014 22:36:53

    #6

    Flaggfish

    Join date : 2008-09-23      Posts : 77

    Here's what the page looks like when I add the form action code:
    http://jboyerdesign.com/sample
    This is a screen shot of my Dreamweaver edit mode.



    Apr 04 2014 09:09:49

    #7

    GT

    Join date : 2008-09-18      Posts : 3207

    Having trouble with a form or need one building?
    Fast turnaround, but I do charge :)

    Mal's Forms / Scripts and the syntax are here.




    Apr 04 2014 11:05:24

    #8

    Flaggfish

    Join date : 2008-09-23      Posts : 77

    Thanks! I didn't know abut this website. I'll get to work.



    Apr 04 2014 11:50:24

    #9

    Flaggfish

    Join date : 2008-09-23      Posts : 77

    Here's a radio button:
    <input type="radio" name="product[]" value="Black">Black

    Here's a Text area:
    <input type="hidden" name="product[]"><textarea cols="30" rows="1" name="product[]"></textarea>

    I'm getting an error saying "end tag omitted, but OMITTAG NO was specified(XHTML 1.0 transitional)

    Are these inputs ok?



    Apr 04 2014 12:10:41

    #10

    Flaggfish

    Join date : 2008-09-23      Posts : 77

    It worked. I fixed the problems, mostly <p> mistakes since I had mucked with the page and not proofed. So the errors now are not breaking the page. Thanks! I discovered that the validation can be done from within Dreamweaver.

    I'd still like your opinion as to whether the inputs I listed above are good code.



       1   |   2      »