Community Forums 

Main Content

Shipping on certain items free in 1 zone only

    Oct 28 2013 19:21:31

    #1

    annieb

    Join date : 2008-11-03      Posts : 31

    I use shipping option 7 with various zones using the units method (units equals price is NOT ticked).

    Is there a way to offer free shipping on certain items (not totals of items) for one zone only? In other words, if an item is given a certain number of units, can a customer have it postage-free in one zone but chargeable in another? I'm sure there's a simple way of doing this but can't figure it out.

    Many thanks. Annie



    Oct 28 2013 21:43:35

    #2

    Debbie Q

    Join date : 2008-09-18      Posts : 5005

    The way I did it was I set the first units box to .95 units and gave my free shipping item a units value of .10.

    Debbie Q

    Mal's Support: www.mals-e.com/support.php
    GT's Forms and examples: www.malsforms.com
    Helpful java scripts: www.gemasana.com/mals
    Shipping help documents: www.stoner.org.uk/mals

    My Create-A-Book Publishing - mycreateabook.com
    Personalized Books, Music CDs and Gifts for all ages and occasions.

    Please help me out and share my site on your networks.




    Oct 28 2013 22:15:15

    #3

    Alan

    Join date : 2008-09-18      Posts : 2987

    Can't think of a simple way.

    1) Probably needs a user written exit under option 8.

    Give the special producta value of say 1000 times its normal units value. The exit can then separate the two parts of the units total and calculate after asking the customer to select a destination zone.

    If the units total were 3001 it would be calculated using 1 unit in the 'free zone' or 4 in the other zones.

    2) Or you might define two options for the product, based on destination. Customer selection would give a units value (or productpr units value) of 0 for the free destination.

    Alan
    Some shipping help documents are available at www.stoner.org.uk/mals/




    Oct 28 2013 22:39:56

    #4

    annieb

    Join date : 2008-11-03      Posts : 31

    Debbie Q said The way I did it was I set the first units box to .95 units and gave my free shipping item a units value of .10.

    Sorry Debbie, I'm not quite with you. I should clarify that I'm using the Standard Shipping. Could you give me a more detailed example of what I should put please?

    At the moment, for UK shipping I have

    Up to 49 units, cost 3.06
    the next 102 units, 1.10
    the next 100 units, 4.45
    the next 100 units, 1.49
    the rest 1.96

    I appreciate that I will probably have to lose a band but what would the top line become? Is it

    Up to 0.95, cost 0.0

    Would this ensure that another zone would charge a proper amount for shipping, ie. my Europe zone begins with

    Up to 49 units, cost 3.55

    If my product's unit is 0.01 then am I right in thinking this would still charge 3.55 for shipping for the European zone?



    Oct 28 2013 22:49:00

    #5

    Debbie Q

    Join date : 2008-09-18      Posts : 5005

    Yes Annie. You understand me perfectly. Of course if the person buys 100 of the item they will be charged shipping. In my case that was very unlikely.

    Debbie Q

    Mal's Support: www.mals-e.com/support.php
    GT's Forms and examples: www.malsforms.com
    Helpful java scripts: www.gemasana.com/mals
    Shipping help documents: www.stoner.org.uk/mals

    My Create-A-Book Publishing - mycreateabook.com
    Personalized Books, Music CDs and Gifts for all ages and occasions.

    Please help me out and share my site on your networks.




    Oct 28 2013 22:52:02

    #6

    annieb

    Join date : 2008-11-03      Posts : 31

    Alan said Can't think of a simple way.

    1) Probably needs a user written exit under option 8.

    2) Or you might define two options for the product, based on destination. Customer selection would give a units value (or productpr units value) of 0 for the free destination.


    Hi Alan,

    I have to admit that Option 8 is over my head.

    In your second suggestion, what would the button code look like in order to offer two choices?

    I'm using a content management system on my site whereby the units for the product are entered into the product's listing in a form field and this forms part of the button code. I'm thinking that I would probably need to adapt this in some way.

    This is part of my html:

    <FORM METHOD="POST" ACTION="http://ww7.aitsafe.com/cf/add.cfm">;
    <INPUT TYPE="HIDDEN" NAME="userid" VALUE="***********">
    <INPUT TYPE="HIDDEN" NAME="product[]" VALUE="$lfield1$">
    <INPUT TYPE="HIDDEN" NAME="price" VALUE="$lfield2$">
    <INPUT TYPE="HIDDEN" NAME="units" VALUE="$lfield8$">
    <input type="image" src="images/buy.gif" alt="Add to Cart" title="Add to Cart" >
    </FORM>



    Oct 28 2013 23:00:43

    #7

    annieb

    Join date : 2008-11-03      Posts : 31

    Debbie Q said Of course if the person buys 100 of the item they will be charged shipping. In my case that was very unlikely.

    I suppose the drawback with this method is that in the Europe zone, it will take a purchase of a much greater number of these items than desired before the shipping band increases. Or should I adapt the other zones in some way?



    Oct 29 2013 04:19:15

    #8

    Debbie Q

    Join date : 2008-09-18      Posts : 5005

    Ahhhh I see the problem. And probably why Alan said there was no easy way. In my case it did not make a difference for my other shipping zones because the item is very light weight.

    Debbie Q

    Mal's Support: www.mals-e.com/support.php
    GT's Forms and examples: www.malsforms.com
    Helpful java scripts: www.gemasana.com/mals
    Shipping help documents: www.stoner.org.uk/mals

    My Create-A-Book Publishing - mycreateabook.com
    Personalized Books, Music CDs and Gifts for all ages and occasions.

    Please help me out and share my site on your networks.




    Oct 29 2013 08:45:04

    #9

    Alan

    Join date : 2008-09-18      Posts : 2987

    I was thinking of an option.

    <select name="units" />
    <option value="0" /> shipped within UK <br />
    <option value="3.55" /> shipped elsewhere <br />
    </select>

    or I believe the following sequence would give units of 0 if the box is checked, or 3.55 if not

    <input type="hidden" name="product" value="whatever" />
    <input type="hidden" name="units" value="3.55" />
    <br /> check if ship within UK
    <input type="checkbox" name="productpr" value=":15:0" />
    <input type="hidden" name="price" value="15" />

    Alan
    Some shipping help documents are available at www.stoner.org.uk/mals/




    Oct 29 2013 09:53:08

    #10

    annieb

    Join date : 2008-11-03      Posts : 31

    Thanks Alan, both options worked.